Only the Beginning
I awoke this morning to find this piece of news in my referrer list. Needless to say, I was a little shocked. I thought things were going so well, I was getting promoted, and then this…
Have I been dooced from my own blog… without me knowing? Well, no. If anybody knows who posted this or why, I would be interested in finding out. So for those coming in from Stylegala, I’m still here. I promise.
Post and Author Info.
Published September 26, 2005 by:
Commenting is currently off for this post.
So far there are 15 comments.
I saw that this morning and was quite confused…
September 26th, 2005
Well im glad you cleared that up, I wondered what the heck “Goran” was talking about.
September 26th, 2005
Could you at the least request that it be removed… or are you enjoying the traffic ;)
If I were you, this is fine and dandy just having a post about it. You enjoy all the benefits of more visitors meanwhile it’s just a hoax.
September 26th, 2005
It was just a hoax to force you to post something, I’m sure it’s nothing. Good to see your site is active again, I’ve often enjoyed reading, but hadn’t chimed in before. Love the color scheme, layout, the whole schbang.
September 26th, 2005
Maybe it’s a plan to launch an attack upoin you or your site and they let it slip out… there are evil people out there Steve, you need to watch out.
BTW – I read it as “Goosed” not “Dooced”.. ha!
September 27th, 2005
I was one of the beans who clicked on that link yesterday. I saw it, clicked it, and thought something must be up. That’s a little less harmless than the prank that got pulled on me a few months ago. Somebody decided to use the info from my resume to sign me up at goarmy.com. I know because the one piece of info they didn’t have right was my DOB. I’ve since removed my address and phone number from my resume. Evil people is right…next thing you know you’ll have cellophane on your toilet bowl and a herd of pink plastic flamingos in your yard.
September 27th, 2005
Remember when someone used the open google “remove this url from index” tool to remove adobe.com from the listings.
It completely wiped their PR and serps for about a day. They eventually had to force restrictions on that tool.
September 28th, 2005
Steve, I come to your site almost daily and for a few days there was some kind of splash page from your registrar or host. It said something on the lines of “This page has been registered by one of our customers.”
September 29th, 2005
Fernando: Interesting. I didn’t notice anything, but then again I can’t say that I visit my own site every day. Do you recall what days it was like that? I should check my log files. Thanks for the tip. Hopefully that never happens again…
September 30th, 2005
Steve, I can’t recall the exact days I saw the message, but I think it was some time on the week of September 19 – 23. Someone else has to have seen it. Hopefully they will leave a comment and shine some light on a more precise time/date.
October 1st, 2005
Glad to see this isn’t dead! Looking forward to more insightful content!
October 13th, 2005
someone is EVIL! they want to take over! dont let them!
October 14th, 2005
Isn’t it a bit strange that after you counter this hoax, you don’t post anything for more than a month? :)
October 24th, 2005
Actually, Pixelchaos, it’s been a few days short of a month, and yes, it is strange. Things will change soon. Possibly, in a big way. Stay tuned.
October 24th, 2005
I was confused for a while also and yes there are some evil people out there, why they do it is beyond me sometimes, if there was a reason or a cause then perhaps you could get even, but if you’ve never led a full-on assault on that person, why should they do something nasty to you, Some people in this world I will NEVER understand.
@Jason Beaird: LOL, I love that trick, the cling film over the toilet bowl … Invisible and DEVASTATING, works best at a house party with students.
October 28th, 2005